The Kingdom is Divided

The Crowning of King JeroboamIllustration:  “The Crowning of King Jeroboam” by an unidentified limner (illuminator of manuscripts), though formerly attributed to Pieter Vanderlyn, c. 1735.  Oil on canvas.

“And if you [Jeroboam] will listen to all that I command you, and will walk in my ways, and do what is right in my eyes by keeping my statutes and my commandments, as David my servant did, I will be with you and will build you a sure house, as I built for David, and I will give Israel to you.  And I will afflict the offspring of David because of this, but not forever.”

Under David’s reign, God gave Israel victory over her enemies and many years of peace. Although this earthly peace and political strength is what Israel thought God meant when He told Abraham, “I will make of you a great nation” (Genesis 12:2), it wasn’t.

King David died after ruling Israel for forty years. He was succeeded by his son Solomon, who unrepentantly disobeyed God’s laws by worshipping other gods and allowing Israel to do so. God punished Israel for her sin by dividing her into two kingdoms: Israel in the north, ruled by kings not descended from faithful David, and Judah in the south, ruled by descendants of David. God humbled David’s descendants because of Solomon’s sin, “but not forever;” that is the promise of Messiah. God has promised that the Messiah will come through David’s descendants, from the tribe of Judah, and He will be faithful to keep that promise.

Prayer: Thank You, Lord, for keeping Your promise to save me. Keep me steadfast in my faith, in Jesus’ name. Amen.

As We Wait: Sometimes we become so blinded by our sin that we cannot see God’s faithfulness to keep His promises. But, even in your dark times, God will keep His promise to love and forgive you through Messiah Jesus.

http://www.BurningBushLCMS.org http://www.ChaivShalom.com

Leave a Reply

