It’s never too late to thank someone…

UntitledLast month I attended a Worship Arts seminar and one of the plenary speakers was Michael Card.  He is a Christian singer-songwriter, author and teacher   So I was looking forward to meeting him, and hoped that I had the opportunity to talk to him for a couple of minutes.  As it turned out, there were only about 20 or so attending the seminar, and in that intimate setting, I got to do both.  And I was finally able to tell him something that I had wanted to since 1991.

Actually, I have tried to meet him a couple of times over the years.  Every time I attended one of his concerts, I looked for an opportunity, but there was always too many people.  Two years ago, at Christmas, I was recruited to sing in the choir that was part of one of his Christmas concerts, and I thought that would be my opportunity, but I was sick and unable to take part.  So last month was an answer to prayer.

The thing that I most wanted to say to him was “Thank you.”  You see, back in the late 80’s, my wife’s pastor, Rev. Hank Corcoran, and his wife Beth, bought tickets to a Michael Card concert and invited Colleen and me to go with them.  I remember it like it was yesterday.  And I was sure that I didn’t want to go to the concert with them.  It was a Christian concert, at a church, and I sure wasn’t ready for that.

Sure, I had already been witnessed to by my family, I had already been sitting with Pastor David Koch for a while arguing and asking questions, I had even been to church once or twice at St. John’s when my daughter was doing something in church.  But by this time, Pastor Koch had left, Colleen had a new pastor in Hank Corcoran, and he wasn’t quite as gentle as Pastor Koch.  He liked to fight back with me.  And even St. John’s was a little uncomfortable still, so another church was out of the question.

But Hank told me that the music that Michael Card would be doing was from an Old Testament perspective (and it was), and he thought I would find it interesting.  It may have been, but as I sat in that church in Cherry Hills, looking out those magnificent windows at the front range of the Rockies, I heard about Jesus from an Old Testament perspective.  And it wasn’t long after that I confessed faith in Jesus.  I had gotten to thank my family, Pastor Koch, and Pastor Corcoran, but I hadn’t yet had the chance to thank Michael Card.  I was blessed to do that last month.  I think he was blessed too.  I hope you have the opportunity to thank those who so influenced your faith.  And while we may not hear it this side of heaven, I know someone will thank you for sharing Jesus with them!

http://www.BurningBushLCMS.org http://www.ChaivShalom.com

http://www.MichaelCard.com

Leave a Reply

